Eagle Scout Scholarships mostly Unknown

Eagle Scout scholarships mostly are unknown scholarships.

Eagle Scout scholarships are mostly unknown scholarships and come from many organizations. We will cover those which are known, and offer the principal Eagle Scout scholarship. The many other unknown scholarships for Eagle Scouts, which are too abundant to mention, may offer from $100.00 to $300.00 and come from various organizations both small and large. Those, you have to research to find out if those places still are offering the Eagle Scouts scholarships. This seems to change from year to year, depending if there was any Eagle Scout college scholarships money allocated for that year from that specific organization.

The two preeminent types of nationally awarded scholarships for Eagle Scouts presented annually by the National Eagle Scout Association (NESA), are academic scholarships and merit based scholarships. The National Eagle Scout Association and Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke Scholarships provide the academic scholarships. The Merit based Eagle Scout scholarships are sponsored by the Hall/McElwain Merit Scholarships. The academic Eagle scholarship will have emphasis on academic achievements as well as your actualization of becoming an Eagle Scout. The Merit Eagle Scout scholarship primary focus is on the high level of realization from becoming an Eagle Scout, an extreme level of accomplishment indeed.  There are also other Eagle Scout scholarships offered by the NESA which are categorized as Religious, Civic/Military and Institution-Specific.

Academic Scout Scholarship Details

There are four $20,000 scholarships to be used over (4) years college, and a $48,000 scholarship, also to be used over four years, along with a number of other. A miscellaneous number of 3,000 scholarships are also awarded in the academic based category too.

Merit based Eagle Scout Scholarships

A number of $1,000 scholarships are presented every year and are selected from the various Boy Scout regions based on recommendations from the same. Eagle Scouts must be graduating high school and entering college in the year they apply for the National Eagle Scout Association scholarships. The NESA reports that they receive approximately 5000 applications yearly and less than 100 are awarded. Don’t let this discourage you from applying though. Many times we’ve heard that people who applied thought they never thought they had a chance to win. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Apply the original Boy Scout motto “Do your best” and get your application in. The submission deadline for the NESA scout scholarship application is January 31, 2009.

Religious Eagle Scout Scholarships 

Emmett J. Doerr Memorial Distinguished Scout scholarships presented by the National Catholic Committee on Scouting. Awards of $1,000 to $2,500 to (3) deserving Catholic high-school seniors who are currently registered and active in Boy Scouting, Varsity Scouting, or Venturing. March 1st deadline.

Chester M. Vernon Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship awarded by the National Jewish Committee on Scouting of $1,000. Deadline is February 28th.

Frank L. Weil Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship presented by the National Jewish Committee on Scouting for $1,000 and (2) runners-up of $500 each. Deadline is February 28th.

Eastern Orthodox Scouting Scholarships sponsored by Eastern Orthodox Committee on scouting awards three one-time merit-based scholarships from $500 to $1000. Deadline is May 1st.

Civic/Military Eagle Scout Scholarships 

American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year awards (1) $10,000 scholarship to its Eagle Scout of the Year, and (3) second-place scholarships of $2,500 each. March 1st is the deadline.

Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Scholarship presented by the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution. Three scholarships are awarded: $8,000 (1st place), $4,000 (2nd place), and $2,000 (3rd place). Deadline will vary by state and chapter.

Veterans of Foreign Wars Scout of the Year presented by The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States. One $5,000 Scout scholarship annually. The deadline is March 1st.

Institution-Specific Eagle Scout scholarships can be viewed by going to:  http://www.nesa.org/institutions.html. This is continually updated and many institutions participate, with some (17) at last count. These institutions are all Colleges who place a high value on scouting in one’s life and award that. Both Boy Scout and Girl Scout scholarships are available at most of these institutions.

Although, there are many other entities that provide hundreds of unknown scholarships for Eagle Scouts, as well as Girl Scout scholarships, the NESA scholarships listed above are sanctioned by the National Eagle Scout Association. These other unknown Scout scholarships may not be given out consistently every year by these entities, and they may not be worth the trouble looking into since their award amounts may be very low.

Eagle Scouts have always followed the Boy Scout motto of “Do your best”. Never has their been a better reward for following this golden Scout rule then an Eagle Scout scholarship to college!

Related Reading

I’m lovin’ it if Macdonalds Scholarships remain Unclaimed

Burger King Scholarship Program is not Unclaimed

Things go better with a Coca Cola Scholarship Program to Pay for Your Education

Do You Have the Right Stuff for a Pepsi Scholarship

Top Universal Girl Scout Scholarships are Unknown

The Unknown Elks Scholarship Programs

Scholarships for Community Service

6 thoughts on “Eagle Scout Scholarships mostly Unknown”

Leave a Reply